Best Players From ICC World Cup of All Time

The pinnacle of success in one-day international cricket is the ICC Cricket World Cup. This competition has been a prestigious platform for displaying the best cricket players since it began in 1975. Over the course of 12 editions, the World Cup’s history has been adorned with luminaries who have made a permanent impression.                      

As the 2019 World Cup draws near, let’s turn the gaze back and celebrate the exceptional World Cup performances that have defined cricketing excellence throughout the ICC world cup live tv video online.

Ricky Ponting (Australia)              

Ricky Ponting was a World Cup run-machine; piling up over 1,000 runs across 3 tournament victories from 2003-2011. He is second only to Sachin in overall World Cup runs with 1,743 at an average of 45.86. 

Ponting announced himself on the biggest stage with 140 not out against India in the 2003 final. He also captained Australia to World Cup glory in undefeated campaigns in 2003 and 2007. His tactical acumen and aggressive brand of leadership were top-notch.

Despite being written off in the 2011 edition, Ponting summoned a determined effort including a magnificent century against Pakistan in the quarter-final. Arguably Australia’s greatest ODI batsman, Ponting was a true big-game performer.

Shane Warne (Australia)                   

Widely regarded as the game’s greatest spinner, Shane Warne left his mark on the World Cup in style. Warne was the Player of the Final in Australia’s 1999 triumph, taking 4/33 to stifle Pakistan’s chase.

His theatrical appealing, loopy leg-breaks and ability to revitalize Australia during the middle overs were essential on the road to World Cup glory in 1999 and 2003. Warne finished with 26 World Cup scalps from 31 games, but his impact went far beyond just his wicket-taking abilities.  

Wasim Akram (Pakistan)              

Wasim Akram will be remembered as the greatest left-arm pacer cricket has ever seen. He was often Pakistan’s go-to bowler when wickets were needed, especially in World Cups from 1987-1999. 

Akram’s most iconic performance was his spell of 3/24 in the 1992 Benson & Hedges World Cup final. When England looked in control chasing 250, Akram turned the game with his outstanding swing bowling. 

Wasim also captained Pakistan’s return to World Cup glory in Australia in 1999. He was the 1992 World Cup’s top wicket-taker and finished his career with 55 wickets, delivering his best on the biggest stage.   

Javed Miandad (Pakistan)              

Javed Miandad was the backbone of Pakistan’s batting lineup at 6 consecutive World Cups from 1975-1996. His never-say-die attitude and knack for thriving under pressure defined his glittering career.  

He etched his name permanently in Pakistan’s cricketing folklore with his match-winning six off the last ball against India in the 1992 World Cup. Miandad’s brilliant unbeaten 58 against New Zealand earlier in the tournament also propelled Pakistan to the title.   

Miandad scored over 1,000 World Cup runs culminating in an average of 47. His tactical genius and fearless style of play allowed him to dominate attacks even at the age of 39 in 1996. For his fighting spirit and big match temperament, Miandad will always be remembered as a World Cup legend.

Brian Lara (West Indies)              

Arguably the greatest batsman since Don Bradman, Brian Lara brought style and substance to the World Cup arena. Despite the dominance of the West Indies fading in the 1990s, Lara kept the men from the Caribbean competitive. 

He registered the first century for the West Indies in World Cups in 1992, and narrowly missed out on scoring the maiden ODI double century against Sri Lanka. Lara’s contribution grew even more vital from 1996-2007 during West Indies’ decline. His incredible 177 against South Africa in 2003, scored while battling poor team form and personal tragedy, was one of the all-time great World Cup knocks.

Lara finished with over 1,000 runs at an average of 42. He was a beacon of hope for West Indies cricket, delivering his best efforts when the stakes were highest.

Jonty Rhodes (South Africa)              

Jonty Rhodes will forever be remembere for redefining the role of a fielder in ODI cricket. He was a livewire on the field, able to swing matches with his dazzling stops, run outs, and catches.  

Rhodes produced the iconic moment of the 1992 World Cup with his gravity-defying run out of Inzamam-ul-Haq. This moment embodied the energy and athleticism Jonty brought to South Africa in their ODI resurgence.

Rhodes was a brilliant backward point and cover fielder who saved countless runs and took catches that seemed impossible. During South Africa’s knockout heartbreaks in 1999 and 2003, Rhodes was often the standout performer. 

His fielding skills added a new dimension to ODI cricket. Rhodes set standards that made teams place greater emphasis on fielding, raising the overall quality of World Cup cricket.

Yuvraj Singh (India)              

Yuvraj Singh gave Indian cricket one of its most treasured memories – winning the 2011 edition on home soil. Yuvraj was Player of the Tournament for his inspired all-round play which included 362 runs, 15 wickets and 4 Man of the Match awards. 

Despite battling cancer during the tournament, Yuvraj showed tremendous courage and composure under pressure. His aggressive 70 against Australia, and 2-51 with the ball, paved the way for India’s quarter-final win.

In the 2011 final, Yuvraj was unbeaten on 21 during the tense run chase. His courageous knock under the most intense pressure embodied the fighting spirit he brought to India’s journey to World Cup glory.


The magic of World Cup cricket has been define by many all-time great players over the years. These athletes have delivered their best performances on the ultimate stage. 

As fans anticipate and love to watch live cricket channel video of upcoming World Cups in England and India, the benchmark for excellence has already been set remarkably high. It will be thrilling to see what new stars can emerge and how they can shape their own legacies going forward.  For now, the players mentioned above will remain icons of World Cup cricket history for generations to come.